Does the Diocese of Rome Sit on Seven Hills?

“And here is the understanding that hath wisdom. The seven heads are seven mountains, upon which the woman sitteth, and they are seven kings:” (Apocalypse 7:9)  Rome is known as the seven hilled city, because the city of Rome sits on seven hills.  And so some conclude that the Roman Catholic Church is the seven headed beast of Apocalypse 17.  There are two problems with this conclusion.  First the Church founded by Jesus Christ does not call itself the Roman Catholic Church.  This was decided in the 19th century Vatican Council, when the question of the name of the Church came up.  We call ourselves Catholic without any adjective, because to limit Catholic is to attempt to limit universality.  Actually anyone who calls them something like Roman Catholic, Traditional Catholic, etc. is not really a Catholic but stealing a name.  (Apocalypse 3:9)  Secondly the Pope is Pope, because he is Bishop of Rome.  The diocese of Rome has authority over six of the seven hills of Rome.  The seventh hill is in the diocese of Ostia.  Therefore the Pope is only Bishop of six of seven hills.  The second Antipope John XXIII, Angelo Roncalli, changed that.  He took over all of the suburbicarian dioceses and brought the Cardinal Bishops of these dioceses into Rome itself as personal advisors, stripping them of the authority as Bishops of these dioceses.  The Conciliar (catholic) Church is founded upon this and the their ‘bishop of Rome’ is not sitting on all seven hills, so the Conciliar Church could be the seven headed monster of Apocalypse 17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.